The Center for the Study of Genocide and Human Rights (CGHR) has an internationally renowned group of advisers, faculty associates, and affiliated scholars who work on urgent world issues and come from perspectives ranging from global studies to the visual arts.

People

Executive Committee +

Alexander Hinton
Director, CGHR
Professor of Anthropology and Global Affairs
UNESCO Chair in Genocide Prevention
ahinton@rutgers.edu

Alexander Hinton

 

 

 

 

 

Nela Navarro  
Associate Director, Director of Education
Lecturer, Spanish and Portuguese
CGHR Executive Committee
nela.navarro@rutgers.edu

Stephen Eric Bronner 
Director of Global Relations
CGHR Executive Committee Member
Board of Governors Professor of Political Science, Department of Political Science, New Brunswick
bronner@rutgers.edu

Senior Research Fellows +

Robert Jay Lifton

Youk Chhang

Visiting Scholars +

Mohamed Alsiadi

Igor Kotler

Luisa Visconti

Natasha Zaretsky

Dalia Fahmy

Daanish Faruqi

Sarah Rose-Jensen

Faculty Associates +

Mohamed Alsiadi
Program Leader, US-MidEast Program

Fran Bartkowski
Associate Professor of English
franb@andromeda.rutgers.edu

Anonda Bell
Associate Director
Paul Robeson Galleries, Newark

Karima Bennoune
Associate Professor of Law, Newark

Karen E. Bishop
Assistant Professor of Spanish and Portuguese, New Brunswick
kebishop@rci.rutgers.edu

Paul Boxer
Assistant Professor of Psychology, Newark

Stephen Eric Bronner
Professor II of Political Science, New Brunswick
bronner@rutgers.edu

Ethel Brooks
Associate Professor of Sociology, New Brunswick
ebrooks@rci.rutgers.edu

Sherri-Ann Butterfield
Associate Professor of Sociology, Newark
sbutter@rutgers.edu

Ko-lin Chin
Professor of Criminal Justice, Newark
kochin@newark.rutgers.edu

Roger S. Clark
Board of Governors Professor of Law, Camden
rsclark@camlaw.rutgers.edu

Ira Cohen
Associate Professor of Sociology, Newark
icohen@rci.rutgers.edu

Jean-Marc Coicaud
Professor of Law and Global Affairs, Newark
Director, Division of Global Affairs, Newark
jeanmarc.coicaud@rutgers.edu

Jason Cortés
Assistant Professor of Spanish and US Latino Studies
Rutgers-Newark University

Jennifer Duprey-Colon
Assistant Professor of Spanish and Catalan Studies
jeduprey@andromeda.rutgers.edu

Brian Ferguson
Professor of Anthropology, Newark
bfergusn@andromeda.rutgers.edu

Yale H. Ferguson
Professor II of Political Science, Newark
yhfergus@andromeda.rutgers.edu

Bruce Franklin
John Cotton Dana Professor of English and American Studies
hbf@andromeda.rutgers.edu

Janice Gallagher
Assistant Professor
Political Science, Newark
janice.gallagher@rutgers.edu

Daniel Goldstein
Assistant Professor of Anthropology, New Brunswick
dgoldstein@anthropology.rutgers.edu

Rigoberto González 
Associate Professor of English and Creative Writing, Newark
Rigoberto70@aol.com

Douglas Greenberg 
Executive Dean, Faculty of Arts and Sciences, New Brunswick
execdean@sas.rutgers.edu

Archer St.Clair Harvey
Professor of Art History, New Brunswick
Director, Cultural and Preservation Studies
astch@rci.rutgers.edu

Carol Henderson
Faculty Associate of Anthropology, Newark
Chenderson96@aol.com

Alex Hinton 
Executive Director
Professor of Anthropology and Global Affairs, Newark
ahinton@andromeda.rutgers.edu

Kimberly DaCosta Holton
Associate Professor of Classical and Modern Languages, Newark
kholton@andromeda.rutgers.edu

Taras Hunczak
Professor Emeritus of Russian, Ukranian, and East European History 
thunczak@andromeda.rutgers.edu 

Lee Jussim
Professor of Psychology, New Brunswick
jussim@rci.rutgers.edu

Peter C. Kahn
Professor of Biochemistry and Microbiology, New Brunswick
kahn@aesop.rutgers.edu

Gabriela Kütting
Associate Professor of Political Science, Newark
kutting@andromeda.rutgers.edu

Kevin Kolben
Assistant Professor of Business, Newark
kkolben@rbs.rutgers.edu

Richard Langhorne
Professor of Political Science, Newark
langhorn@andromeda.rutgers.edu

Thomas La Pointe 
Director of Education
Assistant Professor
Department of Composition and Literature
Bergen Community College

Michael G. Levine
Professor of German and Comp. Lit., New Brusnwick
mglevine@rci.rutgers.edu

Jack Levy
Board of Governors' Professor of Political Science, New Brunswick
jacklevy@rci.rutgers.edu

Jan Ellen Lewis
Associate Dean and Professor of History, Newark
janlewis@andromeda.rutgers.edu

Roy Licklider
Professor of Political Science, New Brunswick
licklide@rci.rutgers.edu

Laura Lomas
Assoicate Professor

Fran Mascia-Lees
Professor and Chair of Anthropology, New Brunswick
FMascialees@anthropology.rutgers.edu

Saul Mendlovitz
Dag Hammarskjold Professor of Peace and World Order Studies Emeritus
Rutgers School of Law, Newark
smendlovitz@kinoy.rutgers.edu

Manus I Midlarsky
Moses and Annuta Back Professor of International Peace and Conflict Resolution, 
Department of Political Science, New Brunswick
midlarsk@rci.rutgers.edu

Sean T. Mitchell
Assistant Professor of Anthropology, Newark

Alexander Motyl
Professor of Political Science
ajmotyl@andromeda.rutgers.edu

Nela Navarro
Associate Director, Director of Education
Lecturer, Spanish and Portuguese
nela.navarro@rutgers.edu

Richard M. O’Meara
Adjunct Faculty, Division of Global Affairs
omearar@msn.com

Arif M. Rana
Adjunct Faculty

Simon F. Reich
Professor of Political Science
Division of Global Affairs, Newark
reichs@andromeda.rutgers.edu

Mark Robson
Dean and Professor
School of Environmental and Biological Science
Rutgers, New Brusnwick
robson@aesop.rutgers.edu

Isaias Rojas-Perez
Assistant Professor of Anthropology, Newark
isaias@andromeda.rutgers.edu

Said S. Samatar
Professor of History, Newark
samatar@andromeda.rutgers.edu

Norman Samuels
Provost Emeritus and University Professor of Political Science, Newark
samuelsn@andromeda.rutgers.edu

Humberto Schettino
Vice-President, BookLinks Publishing Services
hschettino@yahoo.com

Kurt Schock
Associate Professor of Sociology, Newark
kschock@andromeda.rutgers.edu

Arlene Stein
Associate Professor of Sociology, New Brunswick
arlenes@rci.rutgers.edu

Genese Sodikoff
Assistant Professor of Anthropology, Newark
sodikoff@andromeda.rutgers.edu

Joelle J. Tutela
Director of the Urban Teacher Education Program, Newark
jtutela@andromeda.rutgers.edu

Asbed Vassilian
Professor of Chemistry, New Brunswick
asbed@rutchem.rutgers.edu

Bruce W. Wilshire
Professor II of Philosophy, New Brunswick
wilshire@rci.rutgers.edu

Odoric Y. K. Wou
Professor of History, Newark
wou@andromeda.rutgers.edu

Lemkin Fellows +

2018 Fellows:

Zala Jalali

Kelsey Lizotte

Student Associates +

Laurie Cohen

Lillian Hussong

Edwin Jacob

Zala Jalali

Kelsey Lizotte

Veenit Singh

CGHR Alumni +

Claudia Casal-Cordero is a Fulbright recipient currently pursing her Masters at Rutgers University-Newark’s Division of Global Affairs. Her main interests are in labor rights, equality and sustainable development, environmental security, and women status in the armed forces. She received a B.A in political science from ARCIS University at Santiago de Chile and a diploma in Defense and Security from the National Academy of Political and Strategic Studies at Santiago de Chile, with a academic excellence scholarship from Chilean Department of Defense, and a diploma in Quantitative Methods for Social Research from Diego Portales University at Santiago de Chile. Currently, she is the recipient of a prestigious scholarship from Becas Chile program of the Government of Chile. Her professional experience has been focused on sustainable development and labor rights, at the National Center for Alternative Development (CENDA), security and defense, in an assistant researcher role at the National Academy of Political and Strategic Studies and Friedrich Ebert Foundatio. She was also an intern researcher, on CIRELA Project from University of California-Berkeley. In addition, Claudia also has held  academic positions at San Sebastian University, She is the Spanish language editor of the Alterinfos website: www.alterinfos.org.

Murad Meshanni is currently a junior Honors College student at Rutgers University-Newark. He is pursuing a major in Political Science with an emphasis on the preservation of human rights around the world. Murad is fluent in both English and Arabic, has a history of helping others in need, and for the last three years has actively ridden as an EMT at a volunteer squad of his own accord. His intellectual interest ranges from technology and medicine to politics, poetry, and philosophy, taking to heart the polymath mentality of the Renaissance Man. Murad hopes that his experience with CGHR will allow him to better understand the issues regarding global human rights violations and what it takes to protect them universally.

Noor Suleiman is graduated from Rutgers University-New Brunswick in 2014. She will graduate this fall with a double degree in Political Science and Middle Eastern Studies. Noor is fluent in both English and Arabic, and has a passion for Middle Eastern politics. Growing up, she was, and still is very active at her mosque, where she helps run a youth group for middle and high school girls. She is an active volunteer in many different organizations, and is currently on the board of an organization called Inspiring American Muslim Youth that plans and executes annual conventions. Noor is deeply concerned for human rights, and resolving the conflicts of the Middle East.

Stefan Stankovic is currently a Ph.D. student in the Division of Global Affairs at Rutgers University-Newark. He has served as an educator and an activist, leading programs for youth, ethnic minorities, and refugees in the former Yugoslavia. Prior to attending Rutgers, he studied in England and New York. His area of research interest is the trajectory of Great Powers and violent conflicts in the European periphery of the late Ottoman Empire, with regional repercussions in the late 20th Century.

Mariam Zaidi graduated from Rutgers-Newark in 2014. She is pursuing a double major in English and Biology and plans to pursue a career in public health. Mariam has a special interest in promoting international human rights, education, and women's rights in nations in the developing world. She has a special interest in Afghanistan and hopes that her experience with CGHR will help her better understand these goals and what it takes to achieve them.