Deadlines and Alerts

For older alerts and deadlines, please see our Deadlines and Alerts Archive.

December 5, 2017

On December 4, 2017, the Supreme Court lifted the partial hold on the latest version of the Travel Ban 3.0 announced by the White House on September 24, 2017. The ban can now be fully enforced while legal challenges against it are making its way through the courts. The ban was issued by President Trump through a proclamation pursuant to Section 2(e) of Executive Order 13780 designating eight countries to be subject to partial or full restrictions on entry into the United States. The restrictions are country-specific and tailored to the situation of each individual country.

The eight countries subject to the proclamation are:

  • Chad
  • Iran
  • Libya
  • North Korea
  • Syria
  • Venezuela
  • Yemen
  • Somalia 

For more information refer to the Travel Advisory and Resources pages on the NAFSA website.

International students from the affected countries considering international travel or international students planning to travel to the countries listed in the ban are advised to contact the Rutgers Global–International Student and Scholar Services office to discuss their plans. International students in general are advised to exercise caution in international travel. Please follow our general recommendations for travel and do not hesitate to contact us with any questions or concerns or come in and meet with an adviser during walk-in hours.

Finally, Rutgers Law School has launched a new service, the Rutgers Immigrant Community Assistance Project (RICAP), which offers Rutgers University students at the Camden, New Brunswick, and Newark campuses access to legal information and guidance on immigration issues.

November 20, 2017

On September 24, 2017, President Trump issued a new executive order, which effectively replaces the travel ban it had previously announced earlier this year and went into effect on October 18, 2017. There is no end period to this new travel ban. The White House indicated that countries will be removed from this list if and when they meet the requirements the White House has indicated they must meet. The countries included in this order include Chad, Iran, Libya, North Korea, Somalia, Syria, Venezuela, and Yemen.

This travel ban has different impacts on citizens of the listed countries depending on which country you may be a citizen of and with which visa category you are entering the US. This updated travel ban restricts both visa issuance and entry to the US for citizens of the following countries as outlined below. Please note this travel ban does not impact:

  • The status of students or scholars who are already here.
  • The eligibility for benefits for students or scholars who are already here, including CPT, OPT, or Academic Training.

On October 17, 2017, the U.S. District Court for the District of Hawaii ordered that the government not enforce or implement Sections 2(a), (b), (c), (e), (g), and (h) of this executive order.

As a result of this court order, visa applicants who are nationals of Chad, Iran, Libya, Syria, Yemen, and Somalia are not currently subject to any of the restrictions or limitations under the executive order. According to the US Department of State, if you are a citizen of Chad, Iran, Libya, Syria, Yemen, or Somalia, your visa application will be processed.

The order did not affect Sections (d) and (f) of the Proclamation, so nationals from North Korea and Venezuela are subject to the restrictions and limitations listed below.

North Korea

  • Entry as an immigrant is suspended
  • Entry as a nonimmigrant is suspended for all categories


  • Entry is suspended for Venezuelan nonimmigrants on business (B-1), tourist (B-2), and business/tourist (B-1/B-2) visas, but only for officials of government agencies of Venezuela involved in screening and vetting procedures and their immediate family members.
  • Nationals of Venezuela are not subject to the above suspension would nevertheless likely be subject to additional scrutiny

For the latest news and updates on the presidential executive orders, visit the NAFSA: Association of International Educators website.

November 9, 2017

On November 9, the U.S. consulates in Turkey resumed processing visas on a "very limited basis." For the latest information, please refer to the US Embassy and Consulates in Turkey website.